Being a Mac person in a PC world

I’ve been a Mac user a little over a year; I bought my first one in April of 2009. I didn’t know it was possible to love a computer so much, but I really fell in love quickly, and the fire continues to burn.

Mac computers and phones and music players make the user experience incredibly fun and enjoyable. When I go to work and have to use a PC, I feel a bit resentful that I am stuck with a Dell. Work wouldn’t feel so much like work if I did my computing on a Mac. A couple colleagues were bold enough to insist on using Macs at the office. I need to talk with them to find out how they went about negotiating this. I’d like to follow in their lead.

The only negative thing I’ve experienced with my Macs is when I’m on travel (be it for business or pleasure). Here’s what happened today when we arrived at our mountain cabin and I tried to connect to their WiFi.

The nice little lady gave us a tour of our cabin and pointed out the new hot tub (hot damn!) and then I asked her where I could find the WiFi password. She said it was in the little binder on the table. She grabbed the binder and proceeded to quickly thumb through the pages, but she could not find the password.

“Do you have it memorized, by chance?” I asked her.

“I do. The password is our phone number.”

“I have a pen and notepad. Why don’t you write it down.”

“Good idea.”

Then she left, we unpacked, and I grabbed my MacBook Pro and headed out to the deck (which overlooks a wild-running river). I grabbed the little piece of paper with the password, sat in an Adirondack chair, and attempted to join their WiFi network.

I tried and tried, but I was unable to get online. I felt that panicky feeling (OMG! I’m in the mountains for several days and I don’t have AT&T or WiFi. What the heck am I going to do???)

I took a deep breath and walked over to the office, MacBook Pro in tow. I set my Mac on the office counter and told her that I was having trouble getting Internet access. Here’s what she said:

“You use an Apple?”

“Yep.”

“They are troublesome computers. There’s special WiFi instructions for Apple users. We don’t have many Apple users stay with us.”

“Could I have these special instructions?”

“Let me find them.”

She proceeded to flip through several notebooks, lift pieces of paper off one side of the counter and set them down on the other side of the counter. And then she said:

“I can’t find the instructions. Sorry.”

“You advertised that you had WiFi available for your customers; I need to be able to access the Internet.”

“Well, the problem is your computer. We didn’t say anything about having service for Apples.”
At this point, I was about to go ballistic. But I kept my cool.

“Who’s your internet service provider?” I inquired.

“Qwest, I think. But they’re in Phoenix. They won’t be able to come here and fix your Apple.”

“How about if you call them and ask for the special Apple connection instructions.”

She got her phone and dialed Qwest’s number. When she finally reached a live person, she was prompted to give the Qwest rep her phone number. I wrote it down as she was saying it.

That’s when I noticed that the number she wrote on my little piece of paper was different than the number she gave Qwest. As she carried on with her Qwest conversation, I went to my Network Preferences and entered the new password. Bingo! I was connected in a matter of seconds. 🙂

She had her back to me while she was on the phone. I said, “Ma’am, I figured out the problem.”

“Did you fix your Apple?”

“No, the number you wrote down was off by one number. Does your phone number and password end in a 2 or a 3?”

“A three.”

“Yeah, you just made a little typo. No big deal.”

“For heaven’s sake. You’re right. I meant to write down a three but I didn’t. I wrote down a 2. All of that work for a silly number.”

“At least things are working now,” I said. “And isn’t it great that there aren’t special instructions for Apple computers?”

“Well, to me, it’s not. They are hard computers to understand.”

“Have a good rest of the day,” I said.

And then I happily skipped back to the cabin with my MacBook under my arm.

What I am trying to say is that it’s mostly non-Mac users who make being a Mac user difficult.

If I were president, I’d have my country be a Mac Country. 😉

One response to “Being a Mac person in a PC world

  1. Hilarious. Careful, this is why people call us “elitist”… of course, what that really means is “smart & happy.” I remember when you got your iMac, I’m psyched that you’re also now toting a Pro. Next up, an iPad!

Leave a Reply

