So-called specialized department store coupons

I went to a department store over the weekend and bought a few pretty blouses. When I paid, I received not only my receipt, but 5 weird-looking, long coupons. The first thing that bugged me was that this store used so much paper. The second thing that annoyed me was that the receipts were 7 inches long and 4 inches wide. Receipts this size went out of style in the late ’90’s. And the last thing that got on my nerves was the verbiage on the coupons.

As I was paying, the girl at the register said, “Hold on, I’m printing some specialized coupons for you.” Specialized coupons? I was mildly intrigued. When I returned home and unloaded my purchases, I looked at the specialized coupons, and here’s what I saw.

The cashier printed me coupons for the following:

1. Take $10 off men’s clothing (Hello. I’m a woman)

2. Take $15 off children’s clothing (Hello, I don’t have children)

3. Take $10 off tools (Tools? Really?)

4. Take $15 off any, one item (This one I could actually use)

My hope was dashed, though, when I inspected the coupon. Basically, it listed all the store items for which the coupon could not be used.

Here’s a sample:

  • Levi’s
  • Underwear
  • Bras
  • Blankets
  • Pillows
  • Fragrances
  • Diamonds
  • iPods
  • Beer
  • Wine
  • Refrigerators
  • Propane tanks
  • Etc.

They should have listed the one item I could buy using the coupon.

Thanks for nothing, ridiculous and wasteful department store.

Leave a Reply

