Small thrills in New Orleans

When I arrived in New Orleans last week, my sister picked me up at the airport and said she had a big surprise for me. I don’t like surprises. But she told me to take a chill pill and relax; she was certain I’d like this one.

So we stopped for a quick bite of lunch and then she drove us to Tulane University, where she is a librarian. My sister said she needed to finish up a few things before we went to her home. She told me to head over to the Student Union and take a look around. I love student unions (and I needed a cup of coffee), so this was fine with me.

In a sly and mysterious manner, my sister told me that if I needed to use the restroom, I should use the facilities on the 2nd floor of the Student Union. She didn’t say why and I wasn’t in the mood to inquire, so I put on my wind breaker and made my over to the student center.

It’s a lovely building. And it was bustling with kids rushing from one class to another. I love the energy on college campuses. It was pouring rain that day, and all the kids had umbrellas and wore colorful galoshes. After drinking my coffee and doing a fair amount of people watching, I headed to the second floor of the student union. I strolled past a conference room where the students were practicing piano. It was pleasant. I also went to the campus bookstore and purchased the requisite Tulane University t-shirt.

And finally, I needed to use the restroom. After taking care of business, I was washing my hands and looking for the paper towel dispenser. That’s when I noticed my surprise. This restroom was equipped with Dyson Airblade Hand Dryers! I’m a fan of all things Dyson, and I’d encountered one of these Dyson Hand Dryers in Toronto a couple summers ago. I used every excuse in the book to wash and dry my hands; it was such a pleasant experience.

The Dyson Airblade Hand Dryers are amazing. After washing your hands, you stick them into the Dyson machine that’s mounted on the wall, and this huge burst of air comes up and air dries your hands. It’s extremely hygienic and wonderful. Since I was wearing a wind breaker, the burst of air was so powerful that it went up my jacket sleeves and caused me to look like one of the floats in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade. 🙂

The next day, we were exploring various parts of New Orleans. I really needed to use the restroom, so I used my handy “Have 2 P” iPhone App to tell me where the nearest bathrooms were located. Much to my delight, the App recommended the Tulane University Student Union. “So we’re heading over for another Dyson experience, aren’t we?” my sister said. To which I replied, “Hell yeah. Let’s get going! I need to dry my hands!”



http://www.dysonairblade.com/technology/

Leave a Reply

