Being a perfectionist and having a blog

At first I blamed not having a personal blog on the fact that I’m a Scorpio and Scorpios like their privacy. I didn’t want to give the world an inside glimpse into my life. The privacy I’d give up was far more important to me.

I’ve been on Twitter for a year now. And all I can say is that it’s been an awesome adventure. A few of my Twitter friends have blogs, and they have encouraged me to create a blog of my own. With Twitter, you only get 140 characters to say what you need to say. With a blog, however, I could write as much or as little as I wanted.

So now I have this blog. And I’m feeling scared. Of what? I am not exactly sure. But I think it has something to do with being a perfectionist. When I read other peoples’ blogs (who are Type A Personalities, like myself), I cringe when I find a typo or misspelling or a word left out of a sentence. Spell checkers are tricky. They will usually find misspelled words, but they don’t find words that are spelled correctly but are the wrong word for the sentence.

How can I write a blog, but know that my entries will not be perfect? When I reread my entries, I am constantly wearing my English grammar teacher hat, and I find all kinds of errors in my writing. It’s not uncommon for me to want to rewrite or rework a sentence 25 times. Did someone say OCD? Hello.

My hope is that over time, I’ll ease up on myself. I’d like my blogging experience to be fun and challenging and an opportunity to meet new people. I don’t want my blogging to bring back bad memories of diagraming sentences and feeling pressure to get everything perfect. It’s just a spelling error, for God’s sake.

Leave a Reply

